Home » Blog » The Different Qualification Levels in the Exeter UK  

The Different Qualification Levels in the Exeter UK  

by avayoung
1 comment

In the UK education sector, there are a plethora of qualifications kinds offered by the UK awarding bodies. The qualifications range in size and type. This can be academic, occupational, or skill-related and is grouped into different difficulty levels. In England, Wales, and Northern Ireland, the qualifications are divided into higher education qualifications that are on the Framework for Higher Education Qualification. If you are one of them who wants to study in Exeter, UK, then the overview of the different qualification levels is important.  

Different qualification levels  

The qualifications are grouped into diverse levels. Each of the levels resembles a particular qualification’s degree of difficulty. However, the qualifications within one level can cover a different range of subjects. You can take different amounts of time to complete every task. However, if you plan to move to a new city, it is best to book student accommodation in Exeter. 

Business and Technology Education Council: 

The Business and Technology Education Council is a provider of secondary school leave qualifications as well as further education qualifications in England. BTEC qualifications are accepted by different universities when assessing the suitability of the applicants for admission.  

General National Vocational Qualification:

This is a certificate which is provided for vocational education in the UK. It is related to the occupational areas in general rather than a particular job.People can take them in different types of subjects.There are different levels of GNVQ like to Intermediate level as well as the Advanced level. People of any age group receive these. The schools and the colleges offered these courses and they can be studied along with GCSEs or the A levels.Generally, they include different coursework, enabling holders to demonstrate various skills when applying for jobs.

AS and Advanced Highers

The AS level and Advanced level qualification mainly focus on transitional study skills. This generally takes around two years to complete full-time in school or college. This can be taken part-time. They are available in different kinds of academic and applied subjects, and they serve as an entry into higher education.

T Levels:

 The T Level qualification is a new level 3 qualification as it can intended as a technical-based equivalent of the A levels. There are around 193 colleges that plan to offer some T Levels by the year 2022.  

Entry-level qualifications: 

Entry-level London Student Exeter  are renowned as ‘certificates’ or ‘awards’ and these are designed for learners who are not yet ready to take qualifications at Level 1 on the RQF. These are appropriate for the learners who don’t have traditional qualifications. These are available in different kinds of subjects.  

Technical qualifications: Higher Technical Qualifications in digital skills are one of the best ways to provide the students with the best kind of qualifications. If you are going to the UK to pursue technical qualifications, then it is best to book yourprivate student accommodation in Exeter on a prior basis.  

GCSEs/ National 5s:

GCSEs are the main qualification that are taken by 14 to 16-year-olds across England and Wales. these are available in a plethora of academic and applied subjects. GCSEs are at levels 1 and 2 on the RQF which depends on the grades achieved. The Scottish equivalent of the GCSE is the National 5 qualification.  

HNCs and HNDs: 

These qualifications comprise higher education qualifications related to work. They take around one year to complete full-time. the HNDs take around two years full-time. they are highly valued by employers. They can count towards membership in professional bodies and also other employer organizations. HNCs and the HNDs are at the levels 4 and 5 of the FHEQ.  

Key skills qualifications: 

The key skills qualifications are designed to develop different skills which are commonly required in education as well as training. They have been replaced by ‘Functional Skills’ in England as well as ‘Essential Skills’ across Northern Ireland.    

Final Thoughts  

If you are moving to Exeter, then it becomes very important to book the student accommodation on time. there are many accommodations over here and you need to choose the best. Two important student accommodations over here are London Student Exeter and  Northernhay House Exeter, which are perfect. These features and amenities well-equip with all a student looks forward to.

You may also like

1 comment

UK Education System | How is the education system in UK? - A Hub of Ideas and Exploration with Global Blogs May 5, 2024 - 9:36 am

[…] education, further education, and higher education make up the four main components of the UK educational system. In the United Kingdom, primary and secondary education are legally required for children between […]


Leave a Comment